Wilis in Mexico

After Cielos Infernales (which needs an entry on this site itself), Wilis wanted to log some more miles on Monday, and he convinced me to take him out despite the horrible hangover I was nursing.

Wilis works at Deluxe Cycles in New York and is always willing to help me out when I visit so I dragged myself out of bed for a twelve p.m. meet up. We only had a few hours so I took him on one of my favourite loops which takes about three hours. It’s the same loop that I filmed How We Do with Raul.

I didn’t have my regular camera set up and things were a little shakier than usual. I rode the main descent with one hand to stabilize the camera with my other. I wanted to take a break from the ‘crazy highway bombing’ videos, even though we did our fair share of that on the ride.
I slowed the frame rate down to 20 fps and experimented with some black and white settings. This is the first step to figuring out what I plan on using for a video that might happen in January in the south of Mexico.

I have to thank Wilis for getting me out of bed otherwise I might still be feeling awful now. It’s always nice to ride with a strong rider. Wilis finished Cielos Infernales in 7th overall and was the first brakeless racer. Next time I hope I feel up to taking a track bike out, there was no way I would have coped that day though.

Leave a comment